top of page

The Heart of Mary


Praise her with a flower Thank heaven for our Mother For her gift of love Sent from up above Brightens every hour.  From the highest tower Shower her with flowers Mother and a friend From my grateful hands Accept my humble flower.

Praise her with a flower

Thank heaven for our Mother

For her gift of love

Sent from up above

Brightens every hour.


From the highest tower

Shower her with flowers

Mother and a friend

From my grateful hands

Accept my humble flower.


Growing up, I never really knew much about Mother Mary, other than the fact that she was the mother of Jesus. I never saw a need to have a relationship with her since I could go straight to Jesus. Truth be told, she seemed a bit redundant in my life. Yet several years later, Mama Mary is someone whom I’ve grown to have an intimate relationship with and is my closest confidante. Her intercession for me through the many storms in my life has brought me a peace and calmness I never imagined possible in those situations.


About a year ago, my life hit a very rough patch and I felt as if everything around me was threatening to fall apart. Everyone and everything that I sought refuge in were stripped away and I felt left behind. A major wound surfaced in my family which was beginning to cause a huge rift and I found myself caught in the eye of the storm. My heart felt trampled upon, again and again. I didn’t want to allow anyone in- including Jesus- because why should I allow anyone else into my space, only to have them stomp all over it? It was hard to believe that anyone would know my heart as well as I did.



That was when I was once again drawn to our Blessed Mother; The same mother whose presence brought joy to her cousin Elizabeth during The Visitation and whose presence comforted her son as he hung on the Cross. At the core of Mary was the heart of a mother who fiercely protects her children and those she loves. As I knelt before Mary’s grotto and began saying the Rosary, an overwhelming sense of peace washed over every fear I held in my heart. Every lie that clung to me like an identity was slowly peeled away by the love of my heavenly mother who knew the deepest depths of my being.


"The heart of Mary was a place of refuge where I could draw strength, comfort and encouragement."


Moreover, Mary is about protection and ensuring that her children are kept safe on their journey to Heaven. This huge wound that surfaced in my family was an opening for the Evil One to enter and sow seeds of discord amongst us. But Mary fiercely protected each of our hearts during that trying time and in doing so, brought us closer to the Cross of Jesus. During The Annunciation, Mary’s yes to God’s great plan was a triumphant victory over evil. And Mary continues to win battles for us against the Evil One till today! And I claim that she has and will continue to protect my heart.


As all mothers want the best for their children, Mary also wants to give us the best which is Jesus Christ. In my state of despair, she was not going to give me any less than the BEST which is her son. Similarly, in our times of struggle and anxiousness, Mary will draw us to prayer, to the Eucharist and to her son because she knows that that is what our hearts are truly longing for. She knows that our hearts need Jesus Christ.


- Rachel Sim

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page