top of page

The Return of the Prodigal Son - Prologue Reflection



In the prologue, Nouwen offers us the context from which his reflections on the prodigal son were borne - a heart yearning to love and be loved following his move from Harvard to L’Arche. What is most relatable in the prologue is the reality of a man who had achieved much but the depths of his heart ached with loneliness and emptiness.


How many of us relate to this? I know I do. In the hustle and bustle of my every day, I can’t help but feel empty sometimes. My recess week has been packed with many meetings and time blocked out to study for mid terms. In addition, since its the season of lent, I am trying to squeeze out more time to pray. I am like a restless lover who never seem to truly be home with God.


In my restlessness, I realised I did not truly desire God in my heart. But at the heart of Lent is repentance. Before receiving the love of a merciful Father, I need to find in the depths of my heart a genuine desire to come home or ask for the grace to have that desire.

This call to come home is repeated in Nouwen’s reflections for example:


1. Is it a true option for me? This is not an intellectual question. It is a question of vocation. I am called to enter the inner sanctuary of my own being where God has chosen to dwell. The only way to that place is prayer, unceasing prayer. (p. 23)


2. And for you who will make this spiritual journey with me, I hope and pray that you too will discover within yourselves not only the lost children of God, but also the compassionate mother and father that is God. (p. 28)


I pray that as we continue to read this book, we be still to hear God's call to us to come home. I pray that in the depths of our hearts we find the humility and grace to respond to that call.


- Francesca Lee


* Click here to read about our sister, Abigail Tan's reflection on the younger son! *

* Click here to read about our brother, Edwin Lim's reflection on the younger son! *

* Click here to read about our sister, Alyssa Toh's reflection on the elder son! *

* Click here to read about our brother, Brendan Loy's reflection on the elder son! *

* Click here to read about our sister, Kathleen Utojo's reflection on the father! *

0 views0 comments
bottom of page